NSSL researchers receive prestigious awards from AMS

The American Meteorology Society (AMS) has announced the recipients of the 2009 AMS Awards including two NSSL researchers.  Awardees will be honored at the AMS Conference January 11-16, 2008 in Phoenix, Arizona.

Dusan S. Zrnic, is honored “for pioneering and substantial contributions to improvements of meteorological radars for both research and operational applications.”  The Remote Sensing Prize is granted biennially to individuals in recognition of advances in the science and technology of remote sensing, and its application to knowledge of the earth, oceans, and atmosphere, and/or to the benefit of society. The award is in the form of a medallion and a check.

ABBE Award
Former NSSL Director Robert Maddox, now of the University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ is honored for a lifetime of service to Atmospheric Science through seminal contributions to scientific research, inspirational leadership, and exemplary program management that promoted important interactions between research and operations. The Cleveland Abbe Award for Distinguished Service to Atmospheric Sciences by an Individual is presented on the basis of activities that have materially contributed to the progress of the atmospheric sciences or to the application of atmospheric sciences to general, social, economic, or humanitarian welfare.

AMS Fellow
David Stensrud, NSSL’s Chief of Forecast Research and Development has been elected to the grade of AMS Fellow.  Those eligible for election to Fellow shall have made outstanding contributions to the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences or their application during a substantial period of years.  Stensrud joins seven current NSSL scientists (Burgess, Doviak, Jorgensen, Zrnic, Kimpel, Davies-Jones and Lewis) and three retired scientists (Kessler, Maddox, Holle) honored with this distinction.

Significance:  Honors NOAA’s preeminent research